Illinois drivers are required to carry minimum amounts of auto insurance by law. It is a criminal offense to drive without auto insurance and can lead to a number of consequences. If you own a car and plan to register it in the state, you’ll need to carry this mandatory minimum coverage on your vehicle.
How Much Insurance Do Drivers Need?
Drivers are in compliance with Illinois auto insurance laws when they carry a policy meeting the following mandatory amounts of coverage:
· $25,000 Personal injury protection (for one person injured in the accident)
· $50,000 Personal injury protection (for multiple injuries)
· $20,000 Property damage protection
Drivers may purchase additional amounts and types of coverage if they choose. It will cost more to add additional coverage. Drivers who lease new automobiles may be required to carry what is known as a ‘full-coverage’ policy despite state laws.
What Happens if You Drive Without Auto Insurance?
A fine of $1,000, suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration, and a $100 reinstatement fee are all possible consequences of driving a vehicle without auto insurance grayslake il in place. It’s simply not a risk that you should be so willing to take when it’s easy to purchase affordable auto insurance coverage for your vehicle and forego the worries.
How Much Will Auto Insurance Cost?
No two Illinois drivers will pay the same amount of money for their auto insurance coverage. Many factors influence the costs of an insurance policy, including your age, the type of vehicle that needs insurance, your education level, driving history, and other factors. It is important to compare rates with several auto insurance providers before purchasing a policy. When you compare, getting the best price for the coverage that you need is simple.